Skip to content

Things…

June 9, 2009

Things I would do today if the weather were nice, and I didn’t have work:

Hit up the new High Line park, finally open to the public (or at least part of it). I definitely want to check out Spencer Finch‘s part (he’s an acquaintance… or something between acquaintance and friend, whatever that is, and very talented; he’s done more than one piece for a Whitney Biennial in recent years, so you probably at least kind of know his work). 

I’d finally lie out in Central Park, which is something I haven’t been able to do since the weather actually started being nice.

I’d walk around along Museum Mile, where many of the streets are blocked off, and many of the museums are free. I can’t even remember the last time I went to a museum in New York.

I’m very interested by the way so many parts of the city are being closed to traffic, and opened solely to pedestrians. On the one hand, I think it’s great, and a wonderful new way to experience the city. On the other hand, I occasionally drive in the city, and can’t think of anything worse than trying to get somewhere only to discover your route no longer exists. I hope cabbies have the gist.

Work is great, but long and tiring, and I guess I really hadn’t thought about how much of summer I was giving up by getting a full time job. I work from 9:30 to 6:30 most days. That’s a longer day than most college graduates I know. It’s a little ridiculous.

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Things…

Leave a Reply

