Skip to content

Buzz Buzz Buzz

June 12, 2008

So it’s been a while- I’ve been totally and utterly delinquent, but I promise to be better in future. A lot has happened in the last few weeks. Some of it interesting, some of it not so interesting. Of course, given that it’s been so long, I don’t even remember some of it, but I’ll give it a try.
May 22 was the Annual Gala for
El Museo del Barrio. It was a fantastic event! It was held at the Cipriani at Grand Central, and the old bank just glittered. The theme was “quinciñera,” and so all the women donned their gloves and tiarras, and everyone was dressed to the nines. I was fortunate enough to be seated at the table with the director of El Museo, and the architect of the new designs. It was really a great experience. So many wonderful and interesting people were there, as well as designers, doyens of the Latino community, and some beauty pageant ladies.
On the 28th, I officially started work at the magazine. It’s been an interesting start. Some days, I have nothing to do, and some days I’m swamped. Also, the variety of jobs is astonishing. There are perks though. I’m looking forward to working the events. Right now we’re doing the Best Bars in America events, and soon we’ll be doing more marketing events. Also, for the October issue, there are a whole series of projects in the works, and for one of those projects,
M.I.A. came to the office today. Apparently, she wanted money for her shoot, and we gave her $100 bills, but she wanted $1000 bills, which complicated things, and slowed up the shoot. She was supposed to start at 3, and when I left work at 6, the shoot hadn’t started yet.
This past weekend, I went out to
Montauk with JK, JF and BD. It was the first time we’ve all hung out in a few years, and it was great. I got massively burned though. I was red as a tomato, and I’m already peeling, which is terrible. This weekend I’m going away again, so I’m going to have to make sure not to be out in the sun for too long, I want a nice tan, not nasty skin.
Today, I went to the presentation of a “new” artist, and while the work itself was less than important or interesting, the guest list was good.
Jim Basker and his wife were among the coordinators of the event. Overall, it was a group of academics and forerunners among the African American community. Tamara Tunie of Law and Order: SVU and As the World Turns fame was also among the guests.
Recent meals of interest that I can recall:
Jack’s Luxury Oyster Bar is becoming quite a favourite, and I would like to add Stanton Social to my new list of favourites. Both places are relatively cheap, particularly for quality, and Stanton Social is great with a group of friends. Truth is, the rooms are a bit noisy, but the bar is great fun, the food is great, and the drink and wine lists are extensive.
Well, that’s all for now. I will try to be more regular about posting, making sure not to let more than a week elapse between posts, so that I can update with greater detail and accuracy.
Enjoy the rest of the week!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

